Cork Institute of Technology consisted of two constituent faculties and three constituent colleges. The constituent faculties were Engineering and Science, and Business and Humanities. The constituent colleges were the CIT Crawford College of Art and Design, the CIT Cork School of Music and the National Maritime College of Ireland.[4] Faculties were made up of Schools which in turn comprise two or more academic departments.

As of May 2020, CIT had 1,465 staff members of whom 862 were academic staff.